Beer/Wine Review: Adelbert’s Tripel B & Federalist Cabernet Sauvignon

In an interesting variation of my tobacco & alcohol reviews I have a wine to review. I usually don’t drink a whole super lot of wine but I got some in this case because of the particular cigar I was wanting to pair with it. Lo and behold it turned out to be a spectacular pairing (and I’ve already reviewed the cigar I paired with it – the LFD La Nox – review here), but I figured I’d review the wine I wound up selecting to pair with it.

We’ll start with our beer selection, however.

Adelbert’s Tripel B

This bottle-conditioned Belgian Tripel hails from Adelbert’s Brewery in Austin, Texas. It weighs in at 9.3% ABV and has an unspecified IBU and gravity. That doesn’t stop it from being a tasty example of the style.

Pours a hazy orange/gold color. A thin, frothy off-white head sticks around and leaves some lacing. Aromas of wheat, malt, banana and a touch of spice greet the nose. Flavors of fruity banana esters, honey and wheat malt greet the palate immediately followed by the typical Belgian yeasty quality. Tart finish with a subtle spicy bitterness akin to grains of Paradise. Masks the ABV well. Medium to thick body with substantial carbonation. Drinks very easily for its ABV and style.

Overall a tasty Tripel and one I would drink again. Is it the best example of the style? No, but still good enough nonetheless. Rating: 4.25/5.

Federalist Cabernet Sauvignon

As mentioned, I’m not a huge wine drinker but when the mood strikes it’s nothing for me to kill a full bottle. Federalist Wines come to us from Sonoma County, California. When I do drink wine I tend to prefer full-bodied reds with a particular liking for Cab. This particular wine weighs in at 14.9% ABV and this wine, while being rather different from most Cabs, did not disappoint and it sure went well with the LFD La Nox.

The pour is a medium burgundy color. Swirling the glass leaves substantial lacing on the sides of the glass. Slight floral aroma with undertones of dark fruit and a hint of spice. The flavor consists of a distinct fruitiness with components of mixed berry, plum and “jamminess.” A slight spice and floral note on the finish without the excessive amount of bitter tannins sometimes found in the style. Fairly thick on the mouthfeel and a smooth but long finish.

Though not the typical affair for a Cabernet Sauvignon this was a really tasty wine. This would be one for even non-red drinkers to like. it’s exceptionally smooth and tasty and would be a great pairing for a variety of different dishes as well as a wonderful pairing for the cigar I had with it. Just about anyone would like this wine. Rating: 4.25/5.

2 thoughts on “Beer/Wine Review: Adelbert’s Tripel B & Federalist Cabernet Sauvignon

    • Thanks for stopping by! I do appreciate it. I don’t think I’ve ever been contacted by a brewery representative before so I’m glad someone’s listening.

      I’ll definitely be trying more of your beers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

