Cigar Review – Caldwell/Drew Estate All Out Kings

A much anticipated collaboration effort between Caldwell and Drew Estate, the All Out Kings is marketed as an ultra-premium cigar (and comes at that price point) featuring four different filler tobaccos (Jalapa and Estelli Nicaraguan viso, Dominican seco and Connecticut broadleaf ligero), an Indonesian Sumatran binder and a Connecticut Habano wrapper.

I had the Torpedo vitola (6″ x 54RG) but there are multiple vitolas in this blend. Alas, this review will be based on the Torpedo as that’s what I smoked.

After two snips with the Cuban Crafters Perfect Cutter, the first light revealed a perfect draw producing plentiful thick, creamy textured, chewy smoke. The palate is greeted with a medium-bodied, complex bouquet of dessert-like flavors consisting of caramel, cream and milk chocolate and finishing with a subtle pepper and a hint of allspice on the retrohale. The 2nd third drops the pepper and caramel and transitions to more of a nougat while retaining the other flavors. The final third transitions completely into a dark coffee and nuts type flavor. I ended the cigar at an hour and a half as the smoke got too hot for my taste (right at the band point), resulting in an excellent burn time for a Toro-sized stick. Nicotine strength matches the body flavors at a medium.

Construction was very good throughout, holding an ash for about 1/3 of the cigar at a time. The burn line wasn’t totally straight but not problematic and not requiring any corrections. As with most Drew Estate blends, this cigar absolutely pours off foot smoke.

Overall, I have to admit I have mixed feelings about this one. I absolutely loved the flavors, but when I get a cigar I absolutely love the flavors of that’s just medium body I get frustrated. I was left wishing that it had a little more “oomph.” As such, it would’t stand up to a Scotch or a bold hard liquor but it would make a great companion for a cup of coffee or a malty, medium-to-dark beer along the lines of a Scotch Ale or similar.

I really am torn on how to rate it. For the price I was hoping for bolder flavors, but I can’t argue with the flavors it did have nor the burn time. As such, I think I’ll rate it 3.75/5.

Leave a Reply

