Concerning LGBTQ+ Pride Month, Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity

I saw a video on Facebook earlier today that moved me to tears. I just have to share it here. For those of you who read my blog and think like me, you will be too. If you have nothing but hateful religious drivel to spew, please fuck off right now because your comments will be deleted and you will be blacklisted.

The fact of the matter is this is the reality facing so many LGBTQ+ youth, and these problems carry over into adulthood. If you don’t pay attention to anything else you read, hear or see today I beg you to pay attention to this.

As I think about my own life and as difficult as life at home was growing up dealing with parents who were ill-equipped to deal with an autistic/special needs child (probably through no fault of their own), when I see this I’m reminded my childhood was nowhere near as bad as it could have been. The reason? I’m bisexual.

I feel very, very lucky that I have an immediate family who 100% supports my sexuality. They are a lot wiser than I often give them credit for, having grown up in the era that still considered anything other than the cishet mold as an illness. I’m so grateful that they were able to move past that mentality. I’m also lucky to have siblings and friends who are nothing but supportive of me. I do have a lot of extended family who are not and my brother-in-law is definitely not supportive but that pales in comparison to when a parents (biological or otherwise) turn their backs on their kids just because of their sexual orientation or gender identity.

I saw a quote recently that said something to the effect of “Gay pride has nothing to do with celebrating being gay but fighting for the right to exist without persecution; so instead of wondering why you don’t have ‘straight pride,’ be glad you don’t need one.” It’s so true. I don’t rub my sexuality in anyone’s face. I just want to be able to live my life without persecution.

We’re in difficult times in America right now with the election of one of the most anti-LGBTQ+ administrations in the recent history. Fortunately President Trump hasn’t gone out of his way to actively target us, but Neil Gorsuch is far from our friend and there’s a real possibility that he will be impeached and removed from office and Mike Pence is probably one of the most anti-LGBTQ+ politicians in America today. Don’t believe it? Check out his track record as governor of Indiana: he put into place a program that uses taxpayer dollars to fund gay conversion “therapy,” which has correctly been deemed as illegitimate by scientific medical research.

Anyway, that’s about all I have to say in the matter. You love who you love and you are who you perceive yourself to be, and you have the right to equal protection under the law (including access to legally binding relationships and all the benefits of those) and have the right to exist peacefully without persecution or mistreatment. We are all human beings, after all.

3 thoughts on “Concerning LGBTQ+ Pride Month, Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity

  1. I’ve never understood the hate and I’m glad my mind can’t go there. My home has often been a refuge for kids escaping situations of hate or abuse. My daughters are 22 & 28 now and their friends still know they can always come here.🌈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

