Concert Survival Tips?

So after going back and forth for the past couple of months on “do I go, do I not” I finally realized to take the advice the band has for the young at heart, because soon I will be older and I’ve got to make it work. I pulled the trigger on a ticket to the Tears for Fears and Hall and Oates concert at American Airlines Center in Dallas in July.

Now, I will say I have a bit of apprehension still but I think I can make it work. In an effort to save money and reduce sound pressure levels I opted for balcony seating. I’ll definitely be taking my musicians’ earplugs with me to wear as I’m sure it will be loud and I have super-sensitive hearing (seriously, don’t you dare try to talk shit about me when I’m anywhere close, I will hear you even if you’re just whispering in the ear of someone right next to you!). My big thing is how to deal with the crowd? I know it will be a sellout crowd so I just don’t know how I’ll be able to handle it.

Of course, I’ve been in venues with large crowds (most notably Texas Motor Speedway; which I’ll be there again in the next couple of weeks) and handled it OK with minimizing eye, physical and verbal contact with others and largely keep to myself but I just don’t know if that will be possible in such closed quarters as a basketball arena (at least TMS is a 1.5 mile track so it’s more dispersed). Whatever the case, I know to just keep to myself, avoid interaction and enjoy the music.

As long as I can do that, I think I’ll be just fine. Again, much to the chagrin of my fellow spectrumites, I do really wish I was neurotypical. It would be much easier to enjoy these kinds of things if I was.

One thought on “Concert Survival Tips?

  1. Being NT at a concert has its problems too. At least this NT gal has issues😏 I hate, HATE crowds but I love concerts. I’ve been going to shows since I was in middle school way way back in the 80s. I’ve seen some fantastic bands that no longer exist. Anyway, issues… I have to have a seat. No general admission for me. I’m partially deaf from Scarlet Fever when I was a baby & probably too many shows😏 so that’s not an issue but the crowds most definitely are. I get to the venue early, or late. Late you miss a song or two but you don’t have to deal with as many people. Early you can avoid chit chat by intently using your smartphone with earbuds. Sunglasses are a great “leave me alone” too. I’ve not seen TFF, I hope you have an awesome time🎉🎸🎤🎶✨😎

    Like

Leave a Reply

