Scotch Review: Glenlivet Peated Nadurra

nadurra

I think this might be the first Scotch review on this site. That’s OK; it’s about damn time!

I’ll be the first to admit I love, love, LOVE a good single-malt Scotch. I got turned onto it before I was of legal drinking age when I joined a pipe band and was baptized by fire into it. It was love at first sip and I’ve been in love ever since.

I have a particular liking for so-called “cask strength” Scotches. Most are diluted down to a proof of the maker’s desire (but with a minimum of 80 proof) with distilled water. Cask strength Scotches are not – they go straight from the cask to the bottle, hence resulting in a higher and variable ABV from batch to batch.

As such, needless to say Glenlivet Nadurra has always been a favorite of mine. Rich, full-bodied and hot finish, it’s always satisfied me. For the first time since being released, I’ve now found this peated version of it locally and I just had to try it. This particular batch is 61.5% ABV. Here’s the description on the bottle:

nadurra2

So going into it, what I was expecting was Nadurra with a coloration of peaty smokiness. Lo and behold, I was exactly right.

Color is a beautiful golden amber. Leaves lots of lacing on the glass when swirled. The nose was immediately met with the characteristic burn of a cask-strength Scotch with overtones of citrus, vanilla and, predictably, peat. The attack is greeted with a rich honey sweetness and a subtle spiciness with a touch of fruitness. Beautiful smoky/peaty and hot finish with the ever slightest hint of dark chocolate. You can feel this one in your sinuses.

I would say I like this one even a little bit better than the regular Nadurra. It’s got the peat but it’s not so heavily peated as to be offputting to those who don’t prefer super peaty Scotch. I’d describe it as very well-rounded. This would go beautifully with a Padron 1926 Maduro, Blanco Nine Lancero or a CO Final Third cigar.

I absolutely love this Scotch. It’s everything I love about the Nadurra but the peat adds a little something extra to it. Of course, I love peated Scotch and non-peated both and this one kind of gives you the best of both worlds. I can’t wait to pair it with a cigar.

Do yourself a favor and check this one out. Rating: 5/5.

 

Leave a Reply

