Blogger Recognition Award!!!

Well how about that? I was nominated by Laina Eartharcher over at The Silent Wave Blog for the Blogger Recognition Award. To paraphrase former Vice President Joe Biden when former President Barack Obama bestowed upon him the Presidential Medal of Freedom; “I don’t deserve this, but I know it came from the heart.” Laina has become a very good personal friend of mine both on and off WP so for her to nominate me despite some very core differences in perspective and philosophy is beyond anything I could imagine.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how you blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select 15 other bloggers for this award.
  6. Comment on each blog to let them know you’ve nominated them and a link to the post you created.

Well Laina, thanks and you know I love ya. You’ve put up with a lot of my personal bullshit lately in the form of late-night text messages and such so it means more to me than you can imagine.

Brief story of how my blog started:

I’ve blogged off and on about various things over the years and when my former blogging home (Xanga) went under I went without blogging for a couple of years and missed it so I tried to find something else to blog about.

I started my blog almost a year ago with the primary intention of it being like a tattoo journal where I documented my own tattoo experiences (particularly as a late starter into ink) and posted inspirations for future tattoos. Of course, as my blog grew so did the topics; ranging from my struggles as an autistic pilot wannabe to some of my other interests and hobbies. I’m still what I would call invisible in the world of WP with a mere 151 followers (down significantly due to recent angry debates with many of those in my “tribe”) but it continues to grow slowly.

Two pieces of advice for new bloggers: 

  1. Be true to yourself. There’s no need to be fake or force the words.
  2. Networking and connections is key. Make sure to comment on blogs and don’t underestimate the value of the “First Friday” prompt in pitching a brand new blog.

Nominations: 

Picking just 15 seems a bit difficult and I know some others have been nominated by mutual friends so I’m going to try to not duplicate but if I do you have to forgive me.

  1. Michelle over at mishie1. She’s been a long-time blogging friend of mine since my days on Xanga.
  2. Rachel McKee over at Illuminated Literation. She was one of my early followers and  really helped to put me on the map. I owe her bigtime. Oh, and her writing is exquisite.
  3. Anjali Soni over at Eloraquence. Another one of my early followers who was instrumental in pitching my blog. Thank you too!
  4. Elizabeth over at The Well-Informed Namer. It’s always interesting learning the history and etymology of various names worldwide.
  5. Helen over at This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time. Song Lyric Sunday is so much fun and thanks for hosting it!
  6. Kirst over at Kirstwrites. A nod to you for being supportive during my tough times and for your writing talent.
  7. Helen over at Autistic Innerspace. I always love the comics and can relate to them on a number of levels.
  8. Anna over at Anonymously Autistic. I find your openness and brutal honesty about your personal experiences incredibly refreshing.
  9. Sailajap over at Speaking Up for Myself. You’re an amazing writer and a great friend.
  10. Aryan over at Welcome to my Aspie World. Newer blogger here, figured you could use some publicity and love. 😉
  11. KK over at Her Headache. How could I not nominate a fellow Tears for Fears superfan? Oh, and I love reading about your life and struggles as a person with a disability different from my own.
  12. The nameless person behind Depression is the Enemy. As a fellow sufferer of clinical depression I know what it’s like and admire what you’re doing to try to help and inspire others with the condition. It’s tough for sure!
  13. Albysaurus over at Success In Selflessness. Your promotion of mental health awareness, volunteering and serving others is inspirational.
  14. The nameless Wavering Parisian. I know what it’s like to endure similar nonsense to what you have and admire your courage to speak out about it and carry on despite the difficulties you’ve had.
  15. Sara over at The Perfect Panic. One of the earliest blogs I followed when I was in an anxious time of my life and who always provides me with ideas to reduce my stress level.

So there we have it; I’ve honored the conditions of this award. It’s not my first award and hopefully not my last (not that I deserved any of them). I’ve made a lot of enemies in recent months on here so to know someone thinks enough of me to nominate me means a lot. Thanks, Laina. The nomination and your friendship mean more to me than you’ll ever know.

Addendum: Interestingly enough this is also post #200 on my blog. Fancy that.

2 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award!!!

Leave a Reply

