Beer/Cigar Review – Sockdolager Bea-3 and Padron 1964 #4 Natural

18425209_1252411838191560_294945297017751772_n

After the bullshit I’ve been through recently last night I just needed some decompression time. I could feel a meltdown coming on (one of the things that really sucks about being on the autism spectrum) so I figured it was time for me to just chill and unwind to prevent it from happening.

Alas,  I did just that by chilling at a new local brewery. Luckily they have tables outside on the lawn so I could bring a great cigar along as well to puff on while enjoying a lovely spring night in Abilene (and it was lovely too – upper 70s). Nothing (except for getting tattooed) calms and centers me quite like a drink and a smoke. As such, before heading over to the brewery I stopped by my local tobacconist and picked up a rather tasty treat that I figured would go great with my favorite Sockdolager beer and boy was I right.

Sockdolager Brewing Company is a relatively new brewery in my hometown of Abilene, Texas. I’m a big believer in supporting local businesses (after all, small local businesses are the bread and butter of the economy, contrary to what the big corporations want you to believe) so I was dying to try this place out when it opened. Though the tasting room is only open on Saturdays, I can always rely on this place when I just need to unwind and have a few.

So first, about the beer. Bea-3 is an American Oatmeal Stout. It features a rich dark reddish-brown pour with a tan head that retains nicely. Despite its low ABV (sub-5%) it’s still packed with delicious flavors of oats (predictably), roasted malt, chocolate and coffee with a delicate hop finish. Medium in body and in carbonation so it drinks super smooth. An excellent session stout in every respect in that it has a lot of flavor but won’t weigh you down so you can kill several and still drive home afterward. Rating – 4.5/5.

As far as the cigar, well, it’s a Padron. It needs no introduction. This natural stick comes in at 6.5″ x 60RG so it’s definitely a large one (which I was wanting for a nice long smoke).  Great construction (with the exception of that silly single cap; but I’ve never had one unravel on me when cut with the Cuban Crafters Perfect Cutter), good burn line for a 60 requiring only one small touch-up entering the final third. Plentiful rich, medium-full bodied smoke featuring hints of cocoa, sweet cream and a smooth, earthy finish. The last third brings in a hint of a light roast coffee and ramps up the nicotine strength to a medium. An hour and a half burn time to the band where the smoke went too warm for my liking. Rating – 4.5/5.

The beer and the cigar paired beautifully together as I was hoping they would. Neither overwhelmed the other and the flavor profiles complemented each other unbelievably well. This is definitely a pairing I’ll be keeping for future.

Again, just another reminder to support your local businesses. It’s good for the economy, good for them and good for you. As a future local small business owner, right now I’m making sure to pay it forward because I know how important it is.

Leave a Reply

