Confession Time: I Sold My Soul to…

What I am about to post will probably cost me every last follower I have who is also on the autism spectrum. That’s OK. Even if it does, at least I was honest, right?

With Autism Awareness Month being this month and all the hoopla that comes with it, I’ve got this huge confession that will make the actually autistic bloggers who follow me probably very angry. Well, I’ve already succeeded in doing that but this will be the nail in my coffin.

My confession is this: I sold my soul to Autism Speaks.

I know, you’re all disgusted with me now. Tell me something I didn’t already know. Most of you don’t support me, my views or my opinions anyway. You’re definitely free not to. That said, please hear me out and if you still want to dismiss me you are more than welcome to.

Last year around June my local tattoo parlor was doing puzzle piece tattoos and all proceeds after the cost of supplies (ink, needles, tubes/grips, etc.) were donated to Autism Speaks. I gladly jumped on this and was the first one in line. Well, I have this to show for it (which, if you didn’t know what it means, it’s just a cool tattoo anyway):

puzzle

Now, I will also admit that I do support some of the goals of Autism Speaks, but not all of them. Yes, I wish for a cure for myself (for reasons I’ve mentioned before and I don’t think I need to re-hash them as most of you know those reasons and if you don’t there’s this thing called the search bar on the right hand side of this page that you can put some effort into and look for yourselves).

Do I find some of their language repugnant? Absolutely, 100%. I think we all could find something repugnant we find about every charity in existence truth be told. If you find that repugnant language so offensive that you choose not to support the charity, that’s fine. I have no problem with that. Goodness knows there are charities that otherwise do good things that I find some of their language so repugnant I can’t support (the Salvation Army comes to mind with their anti-abortion, anti-LGBT political activism).

Again, I will reiterate: yes, I think we should be researching to find a cure. No, I do not believe that means anyone has to accept a cure if they choose not to. If, for whatever reason, you think your autism is just part of who you are and you think giving that up would be giving part of yourself up, that’s fine. I fully respect that. I don’t really know as I fully understand that viewpoint, but maybe I don’t understand it because of my own personal life circumstances and viewing things through that filter. Whatever the case, as a Libertarian I believe in minimal government and maximum freedom so it would be hypocritical of me to try to tell you how you should live or that something about you should be changed even if you don’t want it to be.

Rest assured that despite my support for groups such as Autism Speaks I will continue to fight for your rights to exist in whatever capacity you wish to exist. My own personal life circumstances (having my dreams crushed due to being on the autism spectrum) and philosophical views (antinatalism) will not interfere with that, for just because I view things a certain way does not mean I get to impose that on anyone else.

With that said, if you are so offended by this that you wish to tell me to fuck off or whatever, fine. I accept that. You are free to do so. Feel free to blast me in the comments. Feel free to reblog this on your own blog and tell all of your followers what a piece of shit you think I am. It’s fine, really. You are also free to unfollow me if you wish, but just be aware that I am a man of conviction and I will not back down nor will anything you say change my own personal views. It’s neither here nor there. After all, you’re not the ones who have to live my life. I am the one stuck with my miserable life, and in the words of Everlast, “God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in my shoes, because then you really might know what it’s like to have to lose.”

Peace out.

2 thoughts on “Confession Time: I Sold My Soul to…

  1. That Everlast song makes me cry every time I hear it. I applaud your courage in saying (typing) exactly how you feel. It’s much better than paying lip service to ideas that don’t mesh with your own. If people choose to leave over a difference of opinion, imo, you’re better off without them. Rock on and stay golden pony boy👍😂😎😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

