Rest in Peace, Amy Bleuel…

So a friend shared with me some shocking news today. Amy Bleuel, founder of Project Semicolon, took her own life on March 23, 2017. (Source: https://themighty.com/2017/03/amy-bleuel-founder-of-project-semicolon-dead/).

Honestly as disconnected as I’ve become with the movement in recent times (due to the religious undertones of the organization), this still saddens me beyond words. If not for the project I probably would have met the same fate not too long after I got my semicolon (my first tattoo). I actually got into it with her one-on-one on her public Facebook page about the religious aspect (because I was left feeling hung out to dry and didn’t feel “welcome”) leading me to get banned from it. As such, I can’t help but wonder if my dickishness about that played a small part in her ultimate decision. I’ll never know. Oh how I wish I could take those mean words back.

All that said, I need to make something very clear: even in my own personal sadness I absolutely respect her decision. I will always respect the wills of those who choose to end their lives for whatever reason. After all, nobody chooses to be born. To be quite frank we were all forced into this world without our consent. That said, the impact of this action on those surrounding the deceased cannot be dismissed and I do think all other possible solutions should be exhausted first. Maybe Amy exhausted all of those avenues herself and just couldn’t take it anymore. Again, I’ll never know. All I do know is I will never speak ill of her or anyone else who makes this decision.

All I have to say is thank you, Amy.  I know we’ve had some strong personal disagreements on your public page(s) but you made a huge impact on my life. You made me realize that there’s so much more to life than pain and suffering and if not for Project Semicolon I’d have never discovered a love and passion for tattoos.

I hope you are finally at peace and whatever demons you fought during your short stay on earth are finally no more.

Leave a Reply

