Beer/Cigar Review Wednesday 2/8/17

Well, I said I wouldn’t have an episode this week but I figured I’d review an old friend I’ve yet to review here because I’m familiar with it and have had it enough to know what it’s like.

I have no cigars for this week but I do have one beer review for you.

Old Chub

Old Chub is an old friend of mine hailing from Oskar Blues in Lyons, Colorado. It’s a Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy that weighs in at 8.0% ABV and 25 IBU and comes in a can as all Oskar Blues products do (which actually is a good thing as it means it’s portable).

Pours a dark, nearly opaque, rich reddish-amber color. Aromas of molasses, caramel and alcohol. Palate follows the nose with big blasts of sweetness consisting of caramel and molasses notes. The back end enters a hint of chocolate and peaty smokiness. Delicate tea-like hop finish and noticeable alcohol afterburn. Thick, mouthfeel and soft carbonation. Surprisingly smooth and quaffable.

This is one of those beers that is, in my mind, a classic and almost beyond reproach. It represents what a great Scotch Ale should be (big, bold, malty and smoky) plus it has the portability of cans as those can go anywhere. What’s not to love? Rating: 4.5/5.

Sorry that was a short episode, but my palate is now starting to recover with the rest of me so we’ll be back on schedule next week!

Leave a Reply

