Born In The Wrong Era?

You know, sometimes I wonder if I just had to be born (which the value of that is questionable at best!) if I was just born like 50 years too late. I say that because of what my “alternate” dream career would be and it would have been better catered to the previous era.

So I can’t be an airline pilot in this era or an era past. Well OK. That’s just a shitty reality but whatever. My alternate dream career would have no barrier at all regarding my illness and I could have done just fine.

If it’s one thing very few people know about me it’s that I’m a total game show buff. I love classic and modern game shows and watch more of those than any other. As such, my “alternate” dream career (and maybe even more desirable) would be to be a game show host. I mean, what could be better? You work 1-2 days per week, get paid six figures minimum and you get to make fun of dumbasses on national TV. Sounds like a hell of a deal to me.

Here’s where I say I was born a generation too late. Back in the days where game shows ruled the airwaves nearly anyone could get a hosting gig. Sure, those with some prior TV experience did seem to have an edge but there are many game show emcees who are only known for that and were practically unknown before they became such. Nowadays? If you aren’t already a big name in entertainment forget about it.

As far as game shows I’d like to host? As much as I love The Price is Right and Jeopardy!, I wouldn’t want to host them. I couldn’t deal with the zany conestants on the former and the reading 300+ answers in a single day of taping on the latter. That would be too much for me. Some games I’d like to host if they brought them back include Press Your Luck, Supermarket Sweep and Shop ‘Til You Drop. The Weakest Link would even be fun, I think (getting to be a smartass and all).

Again though, why must I have unattainable dreams? Just my luck. Can’t help but wonder when to say “enough is enough” and throw in the towel. Whatever the case, what I’m doing now is just draining my soul and I don’t know how much longer I can keep doing it. I’m afraid if I don’t find an out and soon I’m going to lose it and attempt to kill myself again. As attractive as that option sounds, I’m only almost 30 years old. Surely there’s more to life than my current experiences?

Leave a Reply

