Yes, I Want a Cure…

…and that does NOT make me intolerant, self-hating or any of a number of other things I’ve recently been accused of being.

As my blog has started gaining momentum, not surprisingly I have gotten my fair share of critics. That’s to be expected as none of us are immune to criticism. I’m perfectly OK with that. Constructive criticism and healthy debate are good things as they cause you to re-examine your own stances with new information and you can either refute the counterpoint or accept the new findings. I’m fine with that. However, what I’ve been recently accused of is unacceptable.

Some folks (who I am assuming are fellow spectrumites) have either commented me or sent me private messages accusing me of a number of wild things. Some have accused me of being intolerant, some self-hating and even some have claimed that I’m faking it in order to parody autism! I’m not going to name names because I’m better than that but I will say all of these accusations are pure and utter bullshit.

My desire for a cure has to do with one thing and one thing only: my dream career. As the FAA does not tolerate autism spectrum disorders for medical clearance to fly, a cure would mean I could live my dreams. Ideally the FAA would revise their guidelines and evaluate us individually but that’s a pipe dream and that ain’t ever going to happen. Sorry to burst your bubble, but that’s just reality. The potential rewards for me personally would grossly outweigh any potential negative effects (including loss of heightened intelligence or even loss of life).

Please note this is my own assessment and as a Libertarian I am not about forcing anything on anyone. If your perception of your autism is that it’s a benefit to you and that you don’t want to be cured that’s cool with me. I will love and accept you either way. You should weigh the potential reward vs. the potential risks for yourself and make a decision based on your own desires.

I guess what I’m trying to say is please don’t try to put words into my mouth or speak for me. I know many of you regurgitate that old line “Autism speaks doesn’t speak for me.” If they don’t then fine. Perhaps they should change their name in light of that (even though as a general rule I do support the cause). Oh yeah, that leads me to another thing – since I have a tattoo that was a fundraiser for that particular charity I’m told I’m a sellout among other things. Not cool, people.

At the end of the day, I respect your choices and feelings concerning the topic. I only ask for respect in return. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

