Autism Spectrum and Myers-Briggs Types

Maybe this is a weird thing to wonder (as even all of us on the autism spectrum are different), but I wonder if those on the autism spectrum mostly fit into just a few Myers-Briggs types.

I would imagine most (if not all) of us are introverts as well as judgers (i.e. have a preference for structure and order). The middle two letters might be able to go either way but if I was a betting man I’d bet that a vast majority of us fit into those four personality types (INTJ, INFJ, ISTJ, ISFJ).

For me, I don’t fit into a neat little box. I strongly lean I and J, lean moderately N and, depending on the day and set of questions, I flip-flop between T and F. I guess that makes me an INXJ but overall about half the time I wind up an INTJ and the other half INFJ. I know, I’m just weird like that.

I should say that I don’t take the MBTI as gospel truth in any sense of the term. I don’t think we should let our type dictate what careers we pursue or anything, but it’s just interesting to me.

So to my fellow spectrumites, what is your Myers-Briggs type? Also just generally for my other blogging buddies, what’s yours? I’m truly curious.

9 thoughts on “Autism Spectrum and Myers-Briggs Types

    • Interesting that you’re a P. That actually surprises me since desire for structure is more often than not a trait consistent with ASD.

      I know not all of us are the same or have all the criteria but that one just surprises me somewhat.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. While I think only the I/E bit has strong supporting research behind it, I’ve always found the MBTI scale intriguing since I was introduced to it through some training at work more than 25 years ago. It’s important to remember that the J/P only captures the way you extravert your interaction with the outside world. I had a highly unstructured, some might even say chaotic, early childhood and adulthood. I’ve probably lived much of my life in one degree of crisis mode or another. I had to take in information and decide how to respond, which can appear flexible and adaptable. Internally, I have a host of strategies. I develop tiny plans that I assemble into macro-plans but which I can switch out in small increments as circumstances change. Sometimes, especially in crises that no plan can cover, I reduce my view of the horizon down to deciding what I need to next, doing that, and then taking in enough information to decide what I need to do next, and so on. I create small patterns of order or structure for comfort and so I don’t have to think about them. When something unplanned happens or things change unexpectedly, I deal with the anxiety in the moment and find a way to set it aside so it doesn’t build up and overwhelm me.

    All of that combines into a way of interacting with the world that looks very much oriented toward perceiving. It’s also one of a number of reasons I never even thought about being autistic when I would encounter superficial information about autism. It took something closer to home to make me dig below the surface and understand it better. And decide to seek an evaluation.

    Like

  2. I’m an INFJ, and true to form a natural activist. The problem their is between my autism and my introversion, it is sometimes hard to get my views and things heard. I wouldn’t be surprised if alot of autistics fit into the same few personality types. Although there are sometimes a few extroverted autistics out there, one of my friends included.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m INFJ. I’m not ASD, but I do have Sensory Processing Disorder/ADHD/Anxiety and was told it’s a lot like having ADHD. Regardless, I have been really wondering since discovering my personality type, how many on the spectrum would fall into this type, because it not only sounds a lot like me, but many of my friends on the spectrum…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m an INTJ but have always feared mental health diagnoses, so although I wouldn’t be surprised by any number of diagnoses applying to myself, I choose to remain ignorant. The one exception was when I came to realize I was suffering from PTSD and sought help and was, not surprisingly, correct in my self-diagnosis. Found this post very interesting!

    Cheers,
    LG

    Like

Leave a Reply

