My Resignation Letter to My Current Company and Only Post-Election Remarks

As I’ve said here, I never really much like to get political on my blog. That’s not the purpose and that’s not the theme, but I do have some closing remarks regarding the election of Donald J. Trump to the presidency.

I voted for Gary Johnson, as I said I would. I did not believe in either major party candidate and I actually believe in the Libertarian Party platform of social tolerance, fiscal responsibility and “live and let live.” That said, if you had held a gun to my head and forced me to pick one or the other, I would have picked Hillary. The reasons for this are discussed in my resignation letter below.

I truly believe that Donald Trump is a dangerous man and this has already proven to be the case with the many incidents of xenophobia, homophobia and racism. He’s also dangerous to people of my ilk.

As such, I have decided to take a leap of faith and drop everything and move. No, I don’t have shelter, a job or anything of the sort secured yet. I am sort of diving off the deep end here, but I am hoping with big risk comes big reward.

With that said, I hope you read my resignation letter below and realize what’s at stake for those of us who do not fit the neurotypical, cisgender, heterosexual mold. This is not to shame anyone for how they voted, but just to make the gravity of the situation real and relevant. I’m not looking for sympathy either. I’m just sharing why I’m so scared.


To all addressees:

After hours of careful consideration, it is with a heavy heart that I announce that I will be separating from *** at the end of the year. My last day with the company will be Friday, December 30th, 2016.

This is a very difficult decision that I did not arrive at lightly nor do I have anything against any of you nor the company. This decision was reached based purely out of fear for my own personal future. With the surprise election of Donald Trump to the presidency, I fear that I have much to lose if I continue to reside in a deep red state such as Texas. For starters, we all became aware of what DJT thinks of people with disabilities when he mocked the one reporter. I fear that if given the chance he will work with his completely GOP dominated congress to repeal the Americans with Disabilities Act and of course Texas will not protect people with disabilities without a federal mandate. I also fear for my future as a member of the LGBT community. As the Trump/Pence administration has promised to reverse protections for people like me and appoint Supreme Court justices to overturn Obergefell v. Hodges, there is a high probability that I will never have the opportunity to marry who I love should I continue to live here. For these reasons, I have made the decision to relocate to a much more liberal, open minded state where my rights as a LGBT man with a disability (specifically autism spectrum disorder) will be protected regardless of what decisions are made at the federal level.

As for exactly where I will go? I have yet to make that determination. I am confident that I will arrive at a decision in the coming weeks. In the meantime, I will provide whatever support necessary to anyone in preparation for my departure. I will continue to be available for CAD drawings as they are needed. I will transfer ownership of the Logistics log on Google Drive to M** so that can continue to be used for those who need it. Should the powers that be choose to replace me instead of allowing my position to go defunct, I am willing to help train a replacement if a suitable candidate is found during this transition period.

In closing, I wish to extend a vote of thanks to everyone in this company. When I came on board I was down on my luck and dare I say even on the brink of suicide. I probably would not be alive today if I was not given this opportunity. You all have been a huge blessing to me during the past 15 months and I will be forever indebted to all of you. I would especially like to thank B**** W***********  for giving me the chance to show what I am capable of. Though my tenure with this company was short, I have gained a whole new set of professional and life skills that will serve me for years to come. Should *** or one of its sister companies eventually expand into the geographic area that I relocate to, I would gladly return to the company in the future.

I wish all of you the best as the company moves forward.

Warm regards,
Lynn Blair, Draftsman, Abilene Branch

Leave a Reply

