Beer Review: Unibroue Maudite

All the way from Chambly Quebec, Canada comes this rather interesting beer. It’s officially classified as a Belgian Strong Dark Ale but it has the appearance similar to that of an Oktoberfest/Marzen. It has the ABV to back up its classification (8.0%) but I have to say this beer is quite a contradiction at its very core. I don’t know what the hell to think of it honestly.

Pour is a cloudy (unfiltered) orange color with a thick, frothy head that leaves minimal lacing on the glass. Tart, fruity aroma up front with an underlying hint of spice. A very unusual taste that I don’t know how to describe really. It’s definitely got that typical Belgian fruity quality to it. Big malt backbone with a touch of what almost tastes like pumpkin. Spicy finish of coriander and cinnamon heat. Burns on the way down. Medium bodied with medium carbonation and very easy drinking.

Honestly I’m a bit confused. It almost does taste like half Belgian have Oktoberfest. Two different styles, two different regions, one beer. I don’t know whether I like it or not! Not often is it that a beer puzzles me this way but this one has me puzzled for sure, so I guess I’ll just give it a 3/5.

Leave a Reply

