Beer Review: Brooklyn Defender IPA

wp-1472514275928.jpeg

Brooklyn Brewery I think goes without saying when it comes to the quality of their beers. They are beyond reproach in nearly every way. I’ve never been disappointed with a Brooklyn product. For a real treat, grab you a Black Chocolate Stout this winter (my favorite beer by Brooklyn – absolutely to die for).

Anyway, this is a new-to-me Brooklyn Product. Meet Defender: a beer brewed in the style of an American India Pale Ale. It weighs in at 6.7% ABV and an unspecified IBU rating, though judging by the bitterness I’m going to estimate it somewhere in the 60 range.

I’m very picky about my IPAs admittedly. I do enjoy certain ones, but I seek balance in an IPA. I’m not a fan of those that will just blow your mouth out with hops and nothing else. I prefer a more balanced, smoother experience. This one definitely delivered on that.

Pour is a medium red-amber color almost like an Amber ale. Dense, fluffy head that sticks around and laces the glass nicely. Hops present up front on the aroma with notes of grapefruit and piney hops and a slightly alcoholic undertone. Flavor is dominated by citrusy/grapefruit hops with a hint of general spiciness. This is smoothed out by a substantial backbone of sweet caramel malts. Medium bodied mouthfeel with ample prickly carbonation. Drinks incredibly smooth for an IPA; not quite chuggable but smooth enough to take big mouthfuls.

Overall a good IPA for my taste. Nothing blow-your-mind but good enough to have a few with a spicy Asian or Mexican dinner. Rating: 3.5/5.

Leave a Reply

