Single Shaming Abounds

So here we are all getting ready to make the trek to Ft. Worth to watch my sister get married. I’m really not looking forward to it but what can you do?

Anyway, I’m already hearing it: the single shaming. My sister is 8 years younger than me and here she is getting married and I’m over here still single (no girlfriend even and I haven’t had one in almost three years). My family keeps nagging me “when will you find you a good girl to settle down with?” It drives me nuts.

I am pretty much your stereotypical bachelor. I’m a well-paid professional, single, not looking. I go to restaurants, bars, etc. by myself: that so-called “lonely” guy who does everything by himself. And you know what? I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I enjoy the freedom that comes from being single and no children. Nobody to answer to and no children at home to cut into my paycheck or otherwise handcuff me. I’ve always rolled solo mio and that’s the way it’s going to stay, at least for the time being.

Am I going to say I’ll never settle down? No, but I doubt I’ll do so for at least another 10 years unless someone just comes along and I have a “Something happens and I’m head over heels / never find out until I’m head over heels” moment (who knows that song?). I doubt I’ll find a woman who will put up with my ink, generally free-spirit and a guy who wears short shorts. Maybe she is out there, but if so I haven’t found her and likely won’t until middle age when people tend to mellow out and be easier going.

So don’t shame me or anyone else for being single. If it’s working for us then who is to say we need to change? Being single (just as being married) is a valid life choice and no one choice works for everyone’s personality or spirit. We all have our reasons for being the way we are.

Leave a Reply

