One More Week!

To think next week I will be crossing off another bucket list item – to see an IndyCar race.

It just so happens that the first attempt at running the Firestone 600 (the lone Texas race in the IndyCar series) was rained out so it just happened to be rescheduled for this weekend. Lucky me, as I had other things going during the first attempt at running the race and now with the way the cards have played out I’ll be able to go.

A little-known fact about me is that I am a huge IndyCar fan. I’m not a fan of NASCAR interestingly enough but I do love IndyCar. Maybe one of these days I’ll get to go see the Indy 500 in person. Nonetheless, one time you do not pull me away from the TV is during the annual running of the Indy 500. I camp out and do not move.

Anyway, this will be the first race I’ve ever been to so it’s a new experience for me. Have any of my followers ever been to a car race? If so, do you have any advice for me? What to expect, how to prepare, things to take, whatever? I already know sunscreen, bug spray and earplugs but is there anything else? I think Texas Motor Speedway also allows BYOB so I’ll be sure to take a cooler too.

Any input is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

