The Saga of the Malfunctioning Oil Light

When they say something is too good to be true, it probably is. Case in point: the saga of the malfunctioning oil light in my car.

So a little back story: up until January of this past year I was driving an old, beaten up 2000 Ford Focus. The paint was chipping off the hood, the cruise control didn’t work and there was a leak in the clutch system so the clutch pedal had absolutely no free play and didn’t even pop all the way up when released. The car was a hot mess but the thing served me well for nearly 11 years. It wasn’t pretty but it sure was tough.

So when I took my new job one of my first orders of business was to save up enough for a down payment on a new car. I had done my research and decided on a very specific vehicle that I was in the market for: a Ford Fiesta with
1.0L EcoBoost. With MPG rivaling that of a hybrid and the fact that it comes only with a manual transmission (my #1 requirement in a vehicle) it seemed like the perfect fit for my needs. Finding one, on the other hand, proved to be a difficult task. The manual-only thing keeps it from being a good seller. I had resigned myself to thinking I would have to do a special order.

Well, until I came across one a year model old (2015) but still brand new. See, the thing sat on the lot forever because of the manual. As such it was deeply discounted and they just wanted it gone. The only problem was that it was about 150 miles away from home and I had prior engagements that day so I couldn’t just go so I called them and asked if they could hold it, which they said no (which I was expecting). I kept hoping and praying that it wouldn’t sell that week, and when I got the call the next Friday evening from the salesman who said it was still on the lot I prepared for the trek to go collect the vehicle. I got to that dealership the next morning, took it for a test drive and fell in love immediately, got back and made the deal (and a hell of a deal too!). It seemed like destiny really.

Anyway, I do love the car. It might have a tiny engine (1.0L, 3-cylinder) but with the low-inertia turbocharger and direct injection it packs a mighty punch. Oh, and the fuel economy goes without saying – the best I’ve gotten on a long road trip is 44 MPG. Can’t argue with that number.

So, there’s always a catch right? The answer is yes. When it came time for my oil change the reminder tripped and so I changed the oil and attempted to reset it following the directions in the owner’s manual (turn ignition on without cranking the engine, fully press and hold brake and gas for 25 seconds) and it was not resetting. Baffled I took it to my local Ford dealership and had them try and they couldn’t get it to reset. It’s now been at the dealership for a week while they run test after test and they still can’t isolate the problem. It’s even leaving the corporate engineering department at Ford baffled!

I swear, I have some of the shittiest luck ever. I love the car and would hate to give it up but man, this is killer. At least it’s still drivable while the engineers try to bounce ideas off of each other and come up with a fix. Still though, what a train wreck. What seemed like absolute destiny in January is turning into a total nightmare.

I guess you gotta laugh to keep from crying though.

Leave a Reply

