Beer Review: Evil Twin “I Love You With My Stout”

You asked for them: beer reviews. I love beer and I love reviewing beer and now you get beer reviews on this blog! Rest assured I am listening to your input and trying to give you reading material that interests you, so here you go. Introducing Lynn’s beer reviews!

This review features “I Love You With My Stout,” an American Imperial Stout brewed by Evil Twin Brewing in Brooklyn, New York. It weighs in at a hefty 12% ABV and an unspecified IBU rating, though judging by the flavor profile it’s probably pretty high on that scale also.

Pour is a slightly lighter shade of brown than most Imperial Stouts I’ve had; it’s more of a transparent chestnut brown color with a thin 1 finger of head that dissipates fairly quickly. Aroma is a rich roasted coffee with a hint of a generic sweetness. Big, bold flavors of dark chocolate, roasted malts, dark roast coffee and black cherry with a slight hint of vanilla. Finishes with a strong, slightly astringent but not unpleasant bitter hop note. Thick, creamy mouthfeel with subtle, soft carbonation. Drinks easily but I wouldn’t advise slamming it back.

Overall a solid representation of the style. I’ve had better (including some other offerings from Evil Twin) but I would drink this again. I’ll give this one a 4/5.

 

4 thoughts on “Beer Review: Evil Twin “I Love You With My Stout”

    • What’s your current favorite beer? Mine is probably Oskar Blues Ten Fidy (also an Imperial Stout).

      Imperial Stout is my favorite style, followed closely by Scotch Ale and Belgian Quad.

      Like

      • My love for Boundary Bay Brewery is forever. Like: R+BBB=Love 4 Ever. I went to school in Bellingham so a lot of the flavor and appeal is nostalgic, but they make damn good beer too. I went on to their website and found this description:
        Imperial Oatmeal Stout
        21°P OG // 37 IBU // 9.5% ABV

        “A meal in a glass. A black, very rich and full-bodied stout with a silky smoothness that gives way to a long “roasty” finish. A heavy weight monster of a beer – not for the timid! Try it with dessert, or better yet, give our Oatmeal Stout Float a try!”

        Like

Leave a Reply

