Can I Ever Catch a Break?!?!?!?

I swear at times it seems like I have the absolute worst fucking luck. It pisses me off so much. It seems like every time something goes a little bit right for me it turns around and goes a lot wrong.

Case in point: my new car. After 11 years of driving a beaten up hunk of junk and sinking countless hours and dollars into repairs (a lot of which I did myself), I finally got the opportunity to get into a brand new car. After doing extensive research I narrowed it down to a few top contenders and went on the search and I found what seemed to be a perfect match for me: a 2015 Ford Fiesta with 1.0L turbocharged 3-cylinder “EcoBoost” engine. It was deeply discounted due to being a year model old already (but still brand new) and a manual transmission (which nobody knows how to drive anymore – at least in the US) and as such it was too good of a deal to pass up. I had to drive a fair ways to get it, but it was like it was just meant to be.

Let’s just say one thing – I pretty much love this car. It’s fun to drive and gets fantastic fuel economy (I average 38-39 combined MPG and I’ve gotten as high as 44 MPG highway). It’s not the fancy high-end Fiesta or anything, but it’s got plenty of features for me. I’m a simple guy with simple taste after all. I have no wife, no children and will never have either so I don’t need a “family” car – just something big enough to haul myself and my musical instruments around as needed.

Anyway, so it comes times for my oil change a couple of weeks ago. The owner’s manual recommends 10,000 mile oil changes or whenever the so-called “intelligent oil life monitor” alerts you that you need to change your oil (the IOLM monitors your driving habits to suggest when an oil change is needed as opposed to a set interval which is pretty much meaningless). Well as I neared 10,000 miles I still hadn’t gotten the warning and another week’s worth of driving would have put me past so I just decided to get the oil changed. No problem right? Well that’s when things started going horribly wrong.

So the owner’s manual has a reset procedure for the oil monitor right? I follow it verbatim and it doesn’t reset. Well, I figure it must have to trip before you reset it. So I wait and it doesn’t trip for another 500 miles – 250 miles beyond the maximum oil change interval of 10,000 miles. That’s the first indication something wasn’t right. The next one came when I followed the reset procedure again without success. Took it to the dealership two days later and they tried to reset it and that didn’t work.

So I got to looking and there is a service bulletin regarding the oil life monitor on my particular make, model and year model. Great – I have the solution right? Wrong.

I take it into the dealership this morning to have the powertrain control module and instrument panel control system reprogrammed as per the recommendation of the bulletin and guess what? All my software is up-to-date, which means there is something else wrong that they have no clue. They asked me to leave the car there while they try to find a fix and I have to go out of town this week so that wasn’t an option so I’m stuck with that stupid oil light until I can take it back to them or find a dealership in Houston to leave it with for a few days while I’m down there.

I swear, there’s always a fucking catch for everything. Like why can’t something good happen without a setback for once? I have the worst luck ever and I don’t understand why.

At what point does one give up hope? At what point do you just throw in the towel, say “fuck it” and end it all? How much more bullshit am I supposed to take?

I hate this, man.

4 thoughts on “Can I Ever Catch a Break?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

