Random Rantings For Today

Well, this isn’t a tattoo post (though I will be going under the needle again tomorrow at 10 AM for a Scottish-themed tattoo on my outer right calf – stay tuned for pics!) but I just have a couple of rants for today, so thanks for entertaining them.

First off, it’s fucking hot here in Texas, alright? We’re talking upper 90 degrees. Quite frankly I’m also very, very hot natured. Naturally I am going to do what I have to in order to cool my body as much as possible.

I’ve never really liked the shorts they have for men these days. Those baggy long things do nothing to cool your legs and they weigh you down. Nah, I’ve always been one to opt for the vintage short shorts (if you couldn’t tell from my Gravatar). They actually keep your legs cool and let’s face it, legs are legs whether they belong to a guy or a girl.

Nonetheless, do I ever get some heat (pun intended) for it. I’ve seen people snap pictures of me with their cell phones, laugh or snicker under their breath, whatever. I even had a server at a restaurant make a smart remark under her breath (that I think wasn’t intended for my ears but I heard it clear – needless to say she got no tip and a nasty note). It doesn’t bother me as that just says more about them than it does me, but it does make me wonder: why do they care so damn much? My fashion choices, although passé, don’t affect their lives any. I also know a lot of people have been put off by them at first sight and thus have passed over getting to know me.

I’m more than just the clothes I wear or even the ink on my body for that matter. I’m a person with a story to tell and a heart full of love to give and not enough people to give it to. If people looked past my image and got to know me they’d see that although a bit weird, I’m a nice, fun-loving, easy-going guy.

Secondly, it’s allergy season. I have horrible, horrible allergies and have ever since I can remember. Combine this with chronic postnasal drip and as a result often times I have this non-stop throat clearing nonsense. Funs stuff, let me tell you.

Let me tell you what else: I’m just as well aware of it as you are, dear lady in the next office over. You don’t have to go out of your way to point it out to me. I know damn good and well that the whole grinding “ahem” sound and/or the sound of mucus moving around is annoying and gross. Trust me, it’s probably more annoying to me than it is to you! I try to keep it as minimal as I can (and especially since I sing and throat clearing can damage one’s vocal cords) but it can’t be helped.

I know it might be bothersome, but cut me some slack. What do you expect me to do? Choke on my own phlegm? Yeah, like you’re going to enjoy the sound of that!

Anyway, I just needed to vent. For those who read to the end, thanks. I just needed to get this off of my chest. I appreciate my newfound blogging friends and hope our friendship can continue to grow together.

Leave a Reply

